Interactive Bar

Google Services



Home Page
Christ The King Catholic Primary School Learning, growing and praying together with Christ Our King


The School Governors, in consultation with the Head Teacher and staff, develop the policies and standards for the good governance of the School. Responsibility for the implementation of policies and maintenance of standards is delegated to the Head Teacher and on to the staff. Governors make a positive contribution by bringing their experience to help the school provide the best possible education for every one of its pupils. Governors contribute to the development of the school in setting the school’s vision and the strategic framework within which the school operates; determining the character, aims and ethos of the school and developing and monitoring school policies, plans and procedures.


The Governing Body's work is focused on the three core functions of ensuring that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined, that the Head Teacher performs his or her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school, and that there is sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources. Governors adhere to an annually updated  Code of Conduct that sets out their responsibilities and what is expected of them.


Governors meet once each term as a Full Governing Body, and committees of typically 6 or 8 governors meet once each term in addition. Committees, such as Ethos, Performance Management and Pay look after specific areas of school governance and accountability. Individual governors have specific areas of responsibility which will involve them in school visits and discussions with appropriate school staff, and which they report on to the Governing Body as a whole.


The Governing Body re-constituted in August 2015, with 14 governors. Foundation governors are appointed by the Archbishop. Other governors are elected from time to time by the teaching and non-teaching staff, and by parents. The Governing Body can appoint one co-opted governor and the Local Authority also appoints one governor. Governors serve for four years, except co-opted governors who serve for one year.


The members of the governing body are:


Foundation Governors

  • Mrs L Moynihan - Chair
  • Mr J French 
  • Mrs I Murphy
  • Mr J Brown
  • Mr J Jennette - Vice Chair
  • Deacon K Millage
  • Mr F Needham


Local Authority Governor

  • Vacant


Parent Governors

  • Dr S Massey-Ellis

  • Mrs C Hackett 


Staff Governors

  • Miss Jennifer Riach


Headteacher  Mr Peter Burke



Governor Responsibilities & Interests

Name Status Appointed Responsibility/Committee Area Interest
Leanne Moynihan Foundation Governor Nov 2015

Chair of Governors



Pupil Premium

Senior Science Technician
Finham Park School
John French Foundation Governor Nov 2015

Health & Safety/Premises and Security





John French Electrical Services

Imelda Murphy Foundation Governor Nov 2015


Chair of Pay Committee




HT Perform

Jim Brown Foundation Governor Oct 2019  

H and S


Bid Director

Sir Robert McAlpine Ltd

James Jennette Foundation Governor April 2018

Vice-Chair of Governors




Deacon Keith Millage Foundation Governor Sept 2018

Chair of the Ethos Committee



HT Perform

Frank Needham Foundation Gov Jan 2020      
Jennifer Riach Staff Governor Sept 2019     Deputy Head
Peter Burke Head Teacher  Sep 2017


  Head Teacher

Claire Hackett

Parent Governor Jan 2020  


Sian Massey-Ellis Parent Governor Jan 2020      
Elaine Williams Associate Member - not a governor, no voting rights Ethos RE Leader


Governors who have served in the last year

Susan Horrocks Staff Governor Jan 2015-2019 Curriculum and Standards Behaviour and Safety Class Teacher
Roger Ladbury Foundation until July 2019      
Geraldine Higginbotham Foundation until July 2019      
John Parnell Foundation until July 2019      
Christine Fry Co-opted until July 2019      


Matters requiring the attention of the Governing body should be addressed in writing to the Chair of the Governors at the School's Address